GMEA 2015: Epitomes of media excellence named

Nine journalists and bloggers from Visayas and Mindanao have proved that they exhibit exemplary journalistic works as recognized by a telecommunication giant, Globe Telecom in the Globe Media Excellence Awards.

Ben Jason Tesiorna of CNN Philippines was hailed as Reporter of the Year for Television for his story entitled “The Man Who Thanked HIV for New Life” and his story “Davao City’s Best Water was awarded as the Explanatory/ Investigative Story of the Year for Television.

For the Reporter of the Year for Radio, Big Jay Lagang of 105.9 Balita FM emerged winner for his story about “Indigenous Student Education”. The same award was bagged last year by his colleague in the same media outlet, Rommel Aquino.

The Reporter of the Year for Print was given to Henrylito D. Tacio of Edge Davao for his story “HIV/AIDS cases in Davao Growing” and his story “Davao City: Before and After” were adjudged as the Explanatory/Investigative Story for Print/Online.

Sunstar Davao’s Seth C. Delos Reyes became the recipient of the Photojournalist of the Year award for the photo “Playground” while Mindanao Bulletin’s Fred C. Lumba is the Columnist of the Year for his column entitled “Federalism is good for the country.”

For the digital media, the blog post “It’s Hard to be a Kid in Kiahe” by Ariel Lalisan in his blog Living in the South made him the Blogger of the Year while Olan Emboscado’s vlog post “ Into the Heart of Agusan Marsh” in the The Travel Teller made him the Social Media Advocate of the Year.

The storytellers competed in the different categories along with 58 other journalists of media organizations hailing as far as Zamboanga, General Santos, Cagayan de Oro and Davao.

“The number of entries that we received this year is a testament to the commitment of media practitioners to provide exemplary reporting in their respective fields given the vital role of the press in effecting positive societal transformation and nation-building,” said Globe Senior Vice President for Corporate Communications Yoly Crisanto in a statement.

The winners for the Reporter of the Year and Investigative Stories for TV, Print/Online, and Radio, received 20,000 pesos each and 5,000 for their editors.

Meanwhile, the Photojournalist, Blogger and Social Media Advocate of the Year received 10,000 pesos while the Columnist of the Year was given 15,000 pesos. All of them were given trophies.

| Published in 105.9 Balita FM Facebook page: GMEA 2015: Epitomes of media excellence named, December 4, 2015


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s