EARWORM: Million Reasons | Lady Gaga

I first heard Lady Gaga performed “Million Reason” in the latest Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show in Paris.

But I was not distracted by the Victoria’s Secret Angels who walked down the runway in a lingerie (of course, because I am a gay, duh! LOL) and Mother Monster was not in her bold and deviant costume.

I was drawn by the lyrics. The message is so strong and honest and empowering that it compliments the girls strutting down the stage. The words are uplifting, motivating, inspiring, and prayerful accented by her powerful vocals. The two former are her trademark though but the latter is, in my opinion, a deviation (compared to her previous pop songs like Judas, Alejandro and some others). Her belting just added a conviction to every strucking line in it.

The song, Million Reasons was recorded by Lady Gaga as part of her latest album, Joanne (2016). Long before it reverberated in Paris, it was first heard on the radio stations. Gaga further promoted the songs in several concert venues of her Drive Bar Tour, a promotional concert series last October 5 this year.

Gaga categorized the “Million Reasons” as “a country song mixed with funk and rock ‘n’ roll. You would never imagine it would sound that way… the feeling underneath the record is it’s almost got like a little bit of a hip-hop feeling. But at the same time, it’s not a hip-hop song. It’s kind of like I just had no boundaries making music — and neither do any of the other people we were working with. It was kind of like what feels right, what hits the best, what’s going to get everybody in their stomach and their heart,” the singer”.

And she just nailed that! Its lyrics seemingly awaken every hidden emotion and thoughts I refused to admit to myself and have long been buried into the depths of my consciousness. It is telling me to go on with life, no matter what. It is telling me to be strong and not to stop. Finally, it says, “Have Faith!” This is a good hear, a good recommendation when you are troubled right now with whatever problems, insecurities there is.

Million Reasons

You’re giving me a million reasons to let you go
You’re giving me a million reasons to quit the show
You’re givin’ me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Givin’ me a million reasons
About a million reasonsIf I had a highway, I would run for the hills
If you could find a dry way, I’d forever be still
But you’re giving me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Givin’ me a million reasons
About a million reasons
I bow down to pray
I try to make the worst seem better
Lord, show me the way
To cut through all his worn out leather
I’ve got a hundred million reasons to walk away
But baby, I just need one good one to stay
Head stuck in a cycle, I look off and I stare
It’s like that I’ve stopped breathing, but completely aware
‘Cause you’re giving me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Givin’ me a million reasons
About a million reasons
And if you say something that you might even mean
It’s hard to even fathom which parts I should believe
‘Cause you’re giving me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Givin’ me a million reasons
About a million reasons
I bow down to pray
I try to make the worst seem better
Lord, show me the way
To cut through all his worn out leather
I’ve got a hundred million reasons to walk away
But baby, I just need one good one to stay
Hey, ehh, ehh, eyy
Baby I’m bleedin’, bleedin’
Stay, ehh, ehhy
Can’t you give me what I’m needin’, needin’
Every heartbreak makes it hard to keep the faith
But baby, I just need one good one
Good one, good one, good one, good one, good one
When I bow down to pray
I try to make the worst seem better
Lord, show me the way
To cut through all this worn out leather
I’ve got a hundred million reasons to walk away
But baby, I just need one good one, good one
Tell me that you’ll be the good one, good one
Baby, I just need one good one to stay

“Every heartbreak makes it hard to keep the faith
But baby, I just need one good one…reason to stay”

One good and beautiful addition to our music repertoire.

Sources: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Million_Reasons
http://lyrics.wikia.com/wiki/Lady_Gaga:Million_Reasons

Leave a Reply

